I’ve been spending a few hours each afternoon herding run-off through the yard — much easier since the initial chipping of pathways through the ice, and since we’ve had enough warm weather to actually make the yard 80 percent mud and only 20 percent ice. So give it up with a warm round of applause for Mother Nature. She’s the bomb.

John has spent considerable time this week putting our CDs on the computer. As I sat down to write my column (um, yes, this blogging is relevant to the column writing, it’s like a warm up exercise, trust me), I decided to start the “new” tunes for background entertainment … and for because John had the audio-stuff window open, so I didn’t have to figure out where it’s located.

Me not so clever with new computer-thingies.

I found the play button. So proud, so self-actualized to exercise my keen intellect. However, I did realize that the only song in the window was “Layla” by Eric Clapton, so I needed to expand my efforts to find a way to make it play more songs. While I frittered around the window randomly clicking buttons trying to remember what John had told me to do yesterday, I was happy to realize that I know the song.

And just as I figured out where the “shuffle” button is I realized the chorus was playing:

Layla, you’ve got me on my knees.
Layla, I’m begging, darling please.
Layla, darling won’t you ease my worried mind.

And I had this ah-crap moment: All these years I’d never seen the title to that song — I thought Clapton was singing “That ain’t love” instead of “Laaayylaa.”

First, let me say that my version of the lyrics did make sense, so just shut up about it.

Second, I’ll say that I could actually feel the spinny wheels of my brain coming ’round to drop into their proper place. I said, “Oooh, hunh,” out loud. And then this tune popped into my head:

The wheels on the bus go ’round and ’round.
’round and ’round.
’round and ’round.
The wheels on the bus go ’round and ’round,
aaaalll through the town!

Hey Clapton, foolish pride is all I got, man.

That and a No. 2 shovel at: pam(at)viewfromthenorth40.com

