Before the word of the day, this day, I would like to add some points about yesterday’s word and the resulting conversation (which I am so excited that we can have now!).

First, the muck-a-muck form of our new word is still comical to me. It sounds like the ridiculous, fake Indian-speak we did as kids or from the early “talkie” movies. I always say muckety-muck, but some Readers pointed out that they use mucky muck — which my dictionary doesn’t have, but which I can imagine appearing as a variation in a dictionary somewhere. I can imagine that more than muck-a-muck.

Second, while searching my dictionary for muckety-muck (which, in full disclosure, only appears in the dictionary in its full, high-muckety-muck, glory), I found a few muck-related words that had the expected manure/dirt/negativity connotations, but then there was:
muckluck: n. var. mukluk, boot worn by Eskimos (Webster’s 9th New Collegiate).

Now, how disappointing is that? I should petition Webster’s to have the definition changed to something like “n. var. bad luck, or ill luck” because doesn’t it just make sense that the word-marriage of muck and luck should be crappy luck?

Third, the fact that I woke up pondering these heady matters at 3 a.m. officially means, I believe, I’m a no-life dork. Whatever. Moving on.

contumacious: adj. stubbornly disobedient : rebellious (Webster’s 9th New Collegiate).

I’m having that put on a name tag. Maybe a few of the related words, too: contumacy, contumelious, contumely, even controvert.

Not to detract from the lovely contumacious itself, but I really find it funny that right after this bunch of word entries, about being stubborn, willful, insolent, is the entry “contusion” as if one naturally resulted from the other.

I wonder at the luck of that …

and if Webster was a man of profound irony at pam(at)viewfromthenorth40(dot)com

