Nervosity: n. the quality or state of being nervous (Webster’s 9th New Collegiate). hmmm. I think it should be defined as the speed at which nerve impulses travel. Get it? Like it’s a combination of nerves and velocity. Whatever, I chuckled.

I know when my life has reached terminal levels of boringness (a real word) — I start reading the dictionary. Not, mind you, because the dictionary is boring too, but rather because it is enthralling.

The comedian Steven Wright said in one of his stand up routines (and I always have to say this in his tired monotone, so please imagine it while you read this): “I read the dictionary once. I thought it was a poem about everything.”

I love that line.

Hey, got me an idea. To justify my time spent in the dictionary, starting today, I am implementing a Strange Word of the Day celebration for a full week. Anyone can join in … so we need rules … .

The word has to be from an English dictionary, and since I’m an ex-English teacher, you have to cite the source. Here’s my first entry:

high-muck-a-muck (high-muckety-muck): n. an important and often arrogant person (Webster’s 9th New Collegiate).

I’ve actually used muckety-muck but never realized there was a muck-a-muck variant of the term. And, honestly, never would have guessed that there was a Grand Poobah of mucketiness, the almighty high-muck-a-muck.

I could qualify for the title as I scoop manure: Lady Pamela of Saddlesore, High-muck-a-muck of the White Trash Corral.

It has a ring to it at: pam(at)viewfromthenorth40(dot)com

